British Chevening Scholarships for International Students

British Chevening Scholarships for International Students


Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The programme makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at universities in the UK.

The Chevening programme was established in 1983 and has developed into a prestigious international scheme. Chevening Scholars come from more than 150 countries and territories worldwide (excluding the USA and the EU), and this year the Scholarships will support more than 1500 individuals. There are over 43,000 Chevening alumni around the world who together comprise an influential and highly regarded global network.

The programme provides full or part funding for full-time courses at postgraduate level, normally a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any UK university.



  • Open to residents of the following countries
    All Nationalities (except UK & EU)
  • Applicants for 2015/16 Chevening Scholarships must:
  • be a citizen of a Chevening-eligible country, and intend to return there for a minimum of two years after your Chevening award has finished;
  • hold a degree that is equivalent to at least an upper second-class honours degree in the UK;
  • achieve the minimum Chevening English language requirement by 15 July 2015;
  • have completed at least two years’ work or equivalent experience before applying for a Chevening Scholarship. This can include voluntary work and paid or unpaid internships;
  • Apply to three different eligible UK university courses (unless otherwise specified in your award category);
  • Not hold British citizenship or dual British citizenship, unless you are a citizen of a British Overseas Territory or hold BN(O) and are applying from Hong Kong.;
  • Not have previously studied in the UK under a UK government-funded scholarship.;
  • Not be an employee, relative of employee, or former employee (since July 2012) of Her Majesty’s Government (including British Embassies/High Commissions, the Department for International Development, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, UK Trade and Investment, the Ministry of Defence and the Home Office), the British Council, a partner, a sponsoring UK university, or a staff member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.;

Field(s) of study:

All Subjects

Value of award
Varies between award.

Application procedure

To apply for a Chevening Scholarship, you must complete and submit an online eChevening application form at

You must also demonstrate you have achieved a minimum level of English language ability at the time of application (unless you fall into one of the exemption categories or if there are no English language test centres in your country and special arrangements therefore apply).

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to apply. Dont forget to see the Guidelines for Applicants before applying.

Applications for the 2016-2017 Chevening Scholarships opens on August 3.

For the 2016/17 academic year, applications will close on 3 November 2015, 23:59 GMT. However, visit the country list on the official website, select your country from the list on that website for specific instructions.